Lorinda Wilson

Occupational Therapist Aide

Qualifications

I am currently studying a Bachelor of Occupational Therapy at the University of Queensland and I expect to graduate towards the end of 2023. 

I am passionate about caring for the individual and understanding their unique perspective on the world and how they interact with it. 

I have just over three year’s experience working in a mobility equipment shop which has given me great insight as to customers’ needs. From this, I have gained a wealth of knowledge about the kinds of gadgets and equipment available.  If you can think of it, it’s probably out there! I loved seeing customers empowered to choose the right product and equipment for them, based on their preferences and/or personal circumstances.  

In my university studies, I have had some experience in hospital settings which mostly involved taking the time to understand the patient and what is important to them so that we can better work towards their goals. I strive to work with clients, rather than for them, to help provide solutions that they are most satisfied with. 

I also really enjoy working with children. I have experience caring for children from 4-12 years old as a regular babysitter. In this role, I prefer to be seen as a friend or an older sister more than an authoritarian. However, I like to also work alongside parents by encouraging children to stick to their family boundaries. As a youth group leader in my local church, I have held more of a mentor role to high school aged children. This involves running games, facilitating lessons and building friendships with the teenagers after a long school week. 

I like to think that I am a warm and compassionate person who is eager to learn with a high attention to detail.

Scroll to Top